Tour of Schools
Click on a building to see more information
Search the list by keyword:
 
Email | Print this page



LOGIN
 
Page 2 of 6     Go to page: [<< Prev] 1  2  3  4  5  6 [Next >>]
Hagerman Public School 241

  
Wheelchair Accessable
Community Hagerman's Corners
Year Constructed:  1888
Address: 4121 Fourteenth Avenue
(The School Fine Dining)
The former Hagerman Public School, built in 1888 to replace the public school that opened in 1858 and was destroyed by fire on Aril 11 1888. The present building commenced soon afterwards and is believed to have been designed by prominent Toronto architect E.J. Lennox (Casa Loma, Toronto City Hall, and the Church on Main Street Unionville). The present building served the community as a school until 1966. In 1985, the building was purchased by George and Patricia Zarafonitis, and became a successful example of adaptive reuse of a heritage structure when it was converted into a restaurant.

This late 19th century Ontario schoolhouse significantly departs from the standard one-room schoolhouse form established by Dr. Eggerton Ryerson in the 1840ís. An unusual feature is that the original doorways faced away from the street, where one door was for boys, the other for girls. The building is one of the last remnants of the historic community of Hagermanís Corners.
 


Go to page: [<< Prev] 1  2  3  4  5  6 [Next >>]