Earliest Marker 1844
The hamlet of Quantztown was settled by descendants of Melchior Quantz, who emigrated from Germany. He settled in Markham in the 1790s. Melchior Quantz was a Berczy Settler. His son donated land for the cemetery, which was constructed in the 1840s. The earliest marker is dated 1844.
Some of the people who are in the cemetery are as follows:
Sophia Quantz, died in 1882 at the age of 75. She was the wife of George Haacke, buried with her, who died four years later in 1886 at the age of 86. He was the son of John Haacke, who settled in Markham with his wife, Hannah Adams, reportedly a cousin of John Quincy Adams, the sixth president of the United States. George was their only child to remain in Markham. Four of their children, Henry, 3, Margaret, 13, and Janie, 5, all died within eight days of each other in the fall of 1861. Mary Ann also lays there. The wife of David Miller died in 1865 at age 22.
Beside the children is their sister, Hannah. The daughter of George and Sophia Haacke and wife of John J. Lunau died in 1858, days shy of her twentieth birthday. Hannah Lunau, her daughter, died in 1862 at age 3 years, 10 months, 10 days.
Darius Witter was killed by the falling of the Desjardine's (sic) railroad bridge - March 12, 1857. On that date, 90 passengers were on a Great Western Railway train from Toronto to Hamilton. As the train neared its destination, the swing bridge over the Desjardins Canal collapsed. The train plummeted into the frigid canal, killing 59. He was 30.
Lydia Wismer died in January 1857, just several days shy of her 87 birthday. David Wismer died in August that same year, at age 87. Their son, David, was a deacon at the Christian church at Quantztown. The church, which is no longer there, was built at the edge of the cemetery. It was part of the Bible Christian Church, which originated in the United States. Missionaries brought its teachings into Upper Canada. Congregations started at Ringwood, Markham Village, Bloomington in Whitchurch, in Stouffville and in Quantztown.
The the last marker is dated 1946.